Surrey v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other First-Class matches in England 1847
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 22nd, 23rd, 24th July 1847 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 9 runs
UmpiresH Royston, T Sewell
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 83/8 (Micklethwait ?*, Hillyer ?*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 211/9 (Dean 33*, Lillywhite 0*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Earnshawrun out6     
J Heathb Clarke8     
D Dayb Hillyer1     
J Chesterc Haygarth b Clarke16     
N Felixc Walker b Hillyer42     
C Coltsonc Dean b Hillyer9     
WD Bakerc Walker b Clarke1     
CH Hoarec Walker b Hillyer58     
G Brockwellnot out36     
+J Petob Hillyer7     
T Shermanb Clarke4     
Extras(7 b, 2 w)9
Total(all out)197
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-108, 8-182, 9-?, 10-197
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Grimstonb Day8     
J Deanrun out3     
OC Pellb Chester40     
A Haygarthrun out16     
+J Walkerb Sherman0     
S Dakinc Brockwell b Chester5     
W Clarkerun out2     
FN Micklethwaitrun out10     
R Kynastonb Sherman1     
WR Hillyerb Day1     
FW Lillywhitenot out0     
Extras(4 b, 1 w)5
Total(all out)91
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-91
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
FN Micklethwaitb Sherman1     
A Haygarthc Baker b Sherman34     
R Grimstonc and b Sherman4     
OC Pellc Felix b Sherman18     
+J Walkerb Sherman8     
S Dakinst Peto b Felix64     
R Kynastonb Chester17     
W Clarkeb Chester5     
J Deanc Sherman b Day37     
WR Hillyerb Day10     
FW Lillywhitenot out0     
Extras(11 b, 2 nb, 5 w)18
Total(all out)216
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-90, 7-?, 8-?, 9-209, 10-216
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Earnshawb Clarke11     
J Heathb Clarke23     
G Brockwellc Haygarth b Hillyer0     
J Chesterb Clarke10     
C Coltsonc Dean b Hillyer0     
WD Bakerb Lillywhite16     
CH Hoarec Lillywhite b Hillyer7     
N Felixc and b Hillyer12     
+J Petonot out5     
D Dayb Hillyer1     
T Shermanlbw b Hillyer6     
Extras(10 b)10
Total(all out)101
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-?, 3-44, 4-?, 5-47, 6-79, 7-?, 8-89, 9-?, 10-101
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> J Peto made his debut in first-class matches
--> A Earnshaw made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> J Peto made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> CH Hoare (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in first-class matches
--> G Brockwell (1) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> S Dakin (2) passed his previous highest score of 41 in first-class matches
--> J Heath (2) passed his previous highest score of 15 in first-class matches
--> WD Baker (2) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> C Coltson made his debut for Surrey in first-class matches
--> FW Lillywhite reached 1400 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Surrey second innings