Leicestershire v Indians
India in British Isles 1959
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 9th, 11th, 12th May 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresCS Elliott, WE Phillipson
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), G Duckworth (Indians)
Close of play day 1Indians (1) 12/1 (Roy 6*)
Close of play day 2Indians (1) 222/8 (Jaisimha 15*, Surendranath 0*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Roy b Gupte158  24- 
J van Gelovenb Nadkarni37     
*W Watsonb Gupte4     
AC Revillc Nadkarni b Surendranath51     
EF Phillipslbw b Surendranath1     
GW Burchb Borde23     
+R Julianc Tamhane b Borde8     
CT Spencerb Borde11     
JS Savagenot out0     
BS Boshiernot out6     
TJ Goodwindid not bat      
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(8 wickets, declared, 122.1 overs)301
Fall of wickets:
1-71, 2-76, 3-187, 4-201, 5-271, 6-283, 7-292, 8-295
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Surendranath30   11682--
Jaisimha14   4390--
Gupte33   10662--
Nadkarni20   10331--
Kripal Singh7   0310--

Indians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Royc Burch b Boshier6     
+NS Tamhaneb Spencer5     
*DK Gaekwadc Goodwin b van Geloven57     
VL Manjrekarc Burch b Boshier51     
CG Bordec Julian b van Geloven3     
AG Kripal Singhb Boshier15     
RG Nadkarnic Julian b Boshier26     
ML Jaisimhab Savage32     
SP Gupteb van Geloven31     
Surendranathnot out7     
AL Apteabsent hurt
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 108.1 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-12, 3-116, 4-124, 5-137, 6-146, 7-174, 8-222, 9-246 (108.1 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer23   6651--
Boshier21   7494--
Goodwin14   6180--
van Geloven26   10533--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamb Gupte17     
J van Gelovenlbw b Jaisimha1     
*W Watsonc Gupte b Borde85     
AC Revillc Roy b Gupte3     
EF Phillipsnot out40     
GW Burchnot out15     
+R Juliandid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
JS Savagedid not bat      
BS Boshierdid not bat      
TJ Goodwindid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(4 wickets, declared, 62 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-50, 3-66, 4-126
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Surendranath9   4160--
Jaisimha9   0241--
Gupte16   5392--
Nadkarni15   3370--
Borde12   3411--
Kripal Singh1   040--

Indians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+NS Tamhaneb van Geloven22     
ML Jaisimhalbw b Savage36     
AG Kripal Singhnot out29     
CG Bordenot out3     
P Roydid not bat      
*DK Gaekwaddid not bat      
VL Manjrekardid not bat      
RG Nadkarnidid not bat      
SP Guptedid not bat      
Surendranathdid not bat      
AL Aptedid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(2 wickets, 29 overs)94
Fall of wickets:
1-35, 2-76
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Spencer6   1310--
Boshier4   070--
Goodwin6   1190--
van Geloven5   1211--
Savage6   381--
Revill2   140--

--> MR Hallam (1) passed 8500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 110
--> AC Revill (1) passed 14500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 51
--> GW Burch (1) passed his previous highest score of 20 in First-Class matches
--> EF Phillips (2) passed his previous highest score of 27 in First-Class matches