Marylebone Cricket Club v Indians
India in British Isles 1959
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 23rd, 25th, 26th May 1959 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossIndians won the toss and decided to field
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 147 runs
UmpiresJS Buller, FS Lee
Close of play day 1Indians (1) 13/0 (Roy 7*, Jaisimha 6*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 29/1 (Smith 12*, Pullar 3*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CA Miltonc Roy b Gupte104  15- 
K Taylorb Muddiah45     
G Pullarb Desai13     
MJK Smithc Joshi b Desai82     
ER Dexternot out100 11593 
*DJ Insolenot out15     
R Illingworthdid not bat      
+JT Murraydid not bat      
FH Tysondid not bat      
DNF Sladedid not bat      
AE Mossdid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 4 lb, 2 w)15
Total(4 wickets, declared, 106.4 overs)374
Fall of wickets:
1-104, 2-133, 3-192, 4-305
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Desai26   7702--
Jaisimha13   4550--
Gupte25   5771--
Muddiah18   6671--
Nadkarni20   3710--

Indians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Royc Insole b Dexter13     
ML Jaisimhac Murray b Tyson17     
PR Umrigarb Moss82     
*DK Gaekwadc Illingworth b Tyson0     
CG Bordec Smith b Tyson88     
RG Nadkarnic Milton b Moss0     
JM Ghorpadeb Tyson0     
+PG Joshinot out6     
SP Guptec Murray b Moss1     
RB Desaib Moss0     
VM Muddiahc Murray b Moss3     
Extras(1 nb)1
Total(all out, 101.1 overs)211
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-31, 3-31, 4-190, 5-190, 6-191, 7-202, 8-203, 9-205, 10-211 (101.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson26   10444--
Illingworth16   6380--
Dexter17   3481--
Slade14   3390--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJK Smithnot out64     
K Taylorc Muddiah b Desai10     
G Pullarnot out41     
CA Miltondid not bat      
ER Dexterdid not bat      
*DJ Insoledid not bat      
R Illingworthdid not bat      
+JT Murraydid not bat      
FH Tysondid not bat      
DNF Sladedid not bat      
AE Mossdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(1 wicket, declared, 37 overs)120
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Taylor)
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Desai13   2381--
Jaisimha6   490--
Muddiah8   2240--
Gupte5   1300--
Umrigar5   1140--

Indians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Royc Murray b Tyson11     
ML Jaisimhab Moss0     
PR Umrigarc Milton b Dexter18     
*DK Gaekwadrun out13     
CG Bordeb Illingworth12     
RG Nadkarnib Illingworth36     
JM Ghorpadest Murray b Slade17     
+PG Joshic Smith b Illingworth0     
SP Gupteb Illingworth0     
RB Desainot out16     
VM Muddiahb Illingworth5     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(all out, 53.2 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-29, 3-42, 4-55, 5-61, 6-100, 7-101, 8-115, 9-116, 10-136 (53.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson11   2321--
Moss11   6101--
Dexter8   0311--
Slade8   1211--

--> ER Dexter (1) passed 4500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 67