Central Zone v Karachi
Ayub Trophy 1961/62
VenueBahawal Stadium, Bahawalpur on 16th, 17th, 18th March 1962 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCentral Zone won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKarachi won by 9 wickets
UmpiresAziz Ahmed, Nazar Mohammad
Close of play day 1Karachi (1) 125/2 (Alimuddin 66*, Mathias 14*)
Close of play day 2Central Zone (2) 128/6 (Mohammad Iqbal 44*, Sultan Mahmood 6*)

Central Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+Ijaz Hussainb Mohammad Farooq35     
Fayyaz Ahmedc Mathias b Ziaullah27     
Ghafoor Buttc Alimuddin b Shahid Mahmood29     
Mohammad Iqbalb Mohammad Farooq9     
Javed Bhattic Shahid Mahmood b Mohammad Farooq16     
Mohammad Shariflbw b Shahid Mahmood4     
*Aslam Khokharb Mohammad Farooq10     
Khalil Ranac Fasihuddin b Shahid Mahmood1     
Sultan Mahmoodb Shahid Mahmood0     
Shafqat Hussainb Shahid Mahmood0     
Aziz-ur-Rehmannot out9     
Total(all out, 58.5 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-60, 2-99, 3-114, 4-114, 5-131, 6-141, 7-143, 8-145, 9-145, 10-157 (58.5 ov)
Karachi bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mahmood Hussain8   2120--
Mohammad Farooq20.55664--
Ziaullah9   3211--
Afaq Hussain9   4230--
Shahid Mahmood12   5185--

Karachi first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*Alimuddinb Ghafoor Butt66     
+Fasihuddinc Ijaz Hussain b Khalil Rana32     
Mahmood-ul-Hasanrun out8     
W Mathiasnot out78     
Asif Ahmedb Khalil Rana6     
Ziaullahc Shafqat Hussain b Ghafoor Butt36     
Raees Mohammadnot out1     
Mahmood Hussaindid not bat      
Shahid Mahmooddid not bat      
Afaq Hussaindid not bat      
Mohammad Farooqdid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, declared, 82 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-68, 2-87, 3-127, 4-201, 5-230
Central Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sultan Mahmood6   1200--
Aziz-ur-Rehman20   0840--
Mohammad Sharif7   2160--
Khalil Rana15   2422--
Javed Bhatti4   0100--
Ghafoor Butt26   9362--
Shafqat Hussain4   0190--

Central Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+Ijaz Hussainc Fasihuddin b Mahmood Hussain12     
Fayyaz Ahmedc Mahmood Hussain b Shahid Mahmood13     
Ghafoor Buttlbw b Mohammad Farooq31     
Mohammad Iqbalc Fasihuddin b Mahmood Hussain49     
Mohammad Sharifb Ziaullah9     
Khalil Ranalbw b Afaq Hussain14     
Javed Bhattic Fasihuddin b Mahmood Hussain0     
Sultan Mahmoodc Fasihuddin b Ziaullah30     
Aziz-ur-Rehmanb Ziaullah0     
*Aslam Khokharc and b Afaq Hussain17     
Shafqat Hussainnot out0     
Total(all out, 71.4 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-25, 3-74, 4-85, 5-114, 6-135, 7-135, 8-135, 9-179, 10-179 (71.4 ov)
Karachi bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mahmood Hussain18   3533--
Mohammad Farooq13   3331--
Afaq Hussain14   5322--
Shahid Mahmood13   3311--

Karachi second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+Fasihuddinb Ghafoor Butt11     
Mahmood Hussainnot out42     
Shahid Mahmoodnot out48     
*Alimuddindid not bat      
Mahmood-ul-Hasandid not bat      
W Mathiasdid not bat      
Asif Ahmeddid not bat      
Ziaullahdid not bat      
Raees Mohammaddid not bat      
Afaq Hussaindid not bat      
Mohammad Farooqdid not bat      
Total(1 wicket, 27.4 overs)105
Fall of wickets:
1-34 (Fasihuddin)
Central Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sultan Mahmood8   1320--
Aziz-ur-Rehman5   2100--
Khalil Rana6   1220--
Javed Bhatti1   090--
Ghafoor Butt7   2191--
Aslam Khokhar0.4090--

--> Shafqat Hussain made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> Sultan Mahmood (2) passed his previous highest score of 22 in First-Class matches
--> Afaq Hussain made his debut for Karachi in First-Class matches
--> Asif Ahmed made his debut for Karachi in First-Class matches
--> Mahmood-ul-Hasan made his debut for Karachi in First-Class matches
--> Ghafoor Butt reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Karachi first innings
--> Ziaullah reached 50 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Central Zone second innings

Source: First-Class Cricket in Pakistan by Abid Ali Kazi